Open Doors

God has been teaching me a lesson in unselfishness lately.  He has given us this beautiful new house that we are making our home and I stress so much sometimes.  I’m “busy” cleaning up the messes that never stay picked up, toys that are strewn across the floor from adventures, the carpet in the kitchen and consequently the vacuum that seems live in the kitchen as well.  But God.  God has called us to open up this home he has given us, to welcome people into it and love them well.  We love doing foster care; we are so blessed by the children that have come into our home.  Sometimes, however, I use it as an excuse.  We are already welcoming kids into our home, isn’t that enough?  But God.  We will have people come for dinner, regardless of how many dishes I have to wash.  We will have the kids babysat here for Bible study, regardless of how “toyland” (our playroom space) looks afterwards.  We will have house guests even though space gets tight.  My house is not perfect.  It will never be.  But I won’t give up on keeping it picked up either.  And I will give it back to God; he provided us this home and we will honor him in it.  Open doors, open hearts.

Colossians 3:23 reminds me, “Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.” I will be joyful, serving the Lord.  Even when that looks like cleaning my house and opening our doors.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

