Rejoice, Pray, Give Thanks

My devotion in Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young, reminded me of my neediness.  “Your inadequacy presents you with a continual choice- deep dependence on Me, or dispair.  The emptiness you feel within will be filled either with problems or My Presence.”

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

I don’t think God’s calling me to be happy-go-lucky all the time.  But I do believe he’s calling me to rest in him and find the joy of the Lord.  What that looks like, I’m not completely sure.  But I’m going to seek after it.  Rejoicing, praying, and thankful.

I’m thankful for my beautiful family.  This morning I stumbled on some older family pictures from when we had our two foster children.  I miss them deeply, I will always love them, but in Christ, I can rejoice and be thankful.  We had an amazing year with them, one that changed both my life and theirs.  I’m going to release that sadness and go hold my babies, trusting that the Lord has all of them in his hands.  I choose joy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

